HYPOCRISY OF ABORTION

“I’ve noticed that everyone who is for abortion has already been born.”
― Ronald Reagan

I have come across this quote from Ronald Reagan several times over the years. It leads me to contemplate the hypocrisy of abortion. You might say it’s the choice of the parent. Even for the parent making the decision of life or death, it is hypocritical. By hypocritical I mean behaving in a way that suggests one has higher standards in action than is really the case. Let me explain: Parents contemplating abortion would never have been willing to give that power of choice to their parents. They would be horrified by the very thought of their life being left in the hands of their parents to choose whether they live or die. To say that I am fine with my parents having the ability to choose whether to have me or not is ridiculous because of the fact that they DID choose to have me. When I know what the decision will be of course I am fine with saying I would allow them to have a choice. That is without risk for me. The only other option is to say: I would be fine with my parents’ decision to abort me. If that is your answer then you lie to yourself or you find absolutely no value in being you.

Abortion murders something priceless so that we do not have to deal with the consequence. I can think of no other area in life where that kind of thinking is acceptable among moral people. To write off a person, everyone being of great value, as an obstacle to what we perceive as our enduring happiness is beyond egotistic.

We are so easily manipulated by sheer numbers. It is amazing how we allow the masses to help justify such atrocity. If enough people can buy into a belief then it must be right? If others feel this way then I must be justified in my action. That was the ploy of Hitler! He convinced the masses to feel right about what was so extremely wrong.

It comes down to this: we are deciding the fate of a person so that we may live as we wish. But one might say: the obstacles of having the child are so great upon me. Are they great enough to allow you the right to take their life to avoid the potential burden? How blind we are as a nation to God’s will in this!

It is hypocrisy to say you give value to life at all if you advance the cause of abortion.

Psalm 139:13-14

13 For You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb.
14 I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Marvelous are Your works,
And that my soul knows very well.

One thought on “HYPOCRISY OF ABORTION

  1. PS 51:6 “Yet you desired faithfulness even in the womb;
    you taught me wisdom in that secret place.”

    This is my confirmation the life begins at conception. If God desires faithfulness in the womb? Who are we to question Him?

Leave a Reply

