I’M WORRIED THAT I WORRY TOO MUCH

  

Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? 26 Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?    Luke 12: 25-26

We waste so many hours worrying about most things that will never even happen. Did you know worry is a sin? It is our vain attempt of controlling things around us and is the opposite of faith in God. Here are three principles to remember about worry:

1) Worry accomplishes absolutely nothing.

I think we worry because it is the closest thing to control that we have. I can make very little really happen in life or stop anything from happening. I can’t control people or time or a doctor’s diagnosis. What I can do is worry. I do this so I feel Inan doingsomething towards the situation. A better alternative would be to pray. Praying is doing something about the situation. When I pray God often does not change my circumstance but He does change my heart to see my situation in a whole different way. Respond to difficulty in life by praying. 

When I pray, God often does not change my circumstance but He does change my heart to see my situation through a whole different perspective. 

2) Worry has negative effects on you physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

Stress kills. Worry is not a harmless act. It causes us pain and can lead to serious issues. Don’t just accept worrying as just who you are. God did not intend for you to worry. It. Is destroying you slowly.

3) Worry is the opposite of trusting in God.

When we worry we are saying Lord I don’t know that you got this or I don’t  think you will answer the the way I want you to. Worry is the opposite of responding to life by faith. Closely tied to worry is fear. God did not give us a spirit of fear nor does he want us to be anxious about anything. When things go awry around us we need to respond by faith that God is present in our circumstance and will work it according to His purpose and for our ultimate good. 

So for you worriers reading this what are you to do? When you begin to worry don’t try and overcome it by your own effort and willpower. You will ultimately fail. You have to replace your worry with something else. Instead of worrying the Bible tells us to focus in on God’s kingdom. 

To not think so much about self preservation but more on kingdom advancement. That will change your life. We don’t need to try and stop worrying about what is happening to us. We need to stop thinking about ourselves so often in the first place. Don’t accept worry as a way of life. God wants you to see the unbelief and futility of worrying.

Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be added to you 

4 thoughts on “I’M WORRIED THAT I WORRY TOO MUCH

  1. Is regret just worry about past events in disguise? I find myself fretting about things that have happened in the past and just can’t seem to let them go. Every month when I send off my hefty student loan payment I’m reminded of the degree that I am currently not using. It makes me sick to think of the money I spent and the time I feel like I’ve wasted. I’m sure I gained something from getting that degree, but it’s just hard to see the fruis of my labor. I’m going back to school now for dental assisting and can’t help but think “I wish I had been led to this sooner.” But I wasn’t and now I just need to get over it right? Oh so hard to do.

  2. I wasn’t worried at all about our recycling getting to the curb this morning. I let YOU worry about it!
    Thank you for worrying about it and for getting to the curb this am! 🙂

Leave a Reply

