Why I Quit The Faith: An Interview with KIA

Over the last few months I have connected with “KIA,” a fellow blogger. He responded to my blog post about “Witnessing to Atheists.” KIA is a gifted poet and strong thinker. I was intrigued by his story, as he was once a minister. KIA has left the faith. I asked if he would allow me to interview him and he obliged me. I think it is vital that more dialogue happen between us Christians and those who think differently than we do. Here is the unedited, unabridged interview.

1. What do you consider yourself (Atheist, Agnostic, Other) and would you please explain what it means to you?

I don’t really know how i would Identify. as least not at this point in time. i don’t think i’m atheist because i still believe there ‘might’ be a god/gods, but i no longer believe we would ever know it if there were, nor would we be able to demonstrate their existence in the ‘real’ world. i guess for me, at least for now, the question becomes irrelevant. Who am i now? I’m just me, like i’ve always been. That’s who I am.

2. You were one time in the Christian Faith. Could you explain how you came to be part of the Christian Faith and how committed would you say you were to the faith?

Yes, I was a christian/disciple of jesus for 34 yrs, 25 of those in what i will refer to as ‘Avocational’ ministry of various forms. From teaching, evangelism (street and otherwise), international missions in two different countries and the US in the inner cities of the phoenix az area (gangs and kids pre-gang). I’ve led homegroups, led worship in small groups, outreach and church settings and have discipled men (my personal forte and passion for the last 20 years). I’d say i was about as committed and flexible a ‘disciple of jesus’ i’ve ever known without remaining a celebate, lifelong missionary in a third world country. I’ll match my ministry C.V. to anyone, anyday.

3. Why did you leave the faith? Would you describe that journey?

Evidence. Evidence had convinced me that i had been wrong about the very foundations of the Truth Claims and claims to Archaeological/Historical accuracy and the Textural Integrity of the Bible as a whole as God’s Word. to quote a verse slightly modified, “If the foundations be destroyed…” what is a christian to do but deconvert?

4. What is your take on Christians today? If you had then all gathered up in a room to listen to you what would you say?

My take on Christians today? I would hope they are like me, asking questions and searching for answers, even if those answers lead them away from what they believed as irrefutable and incontrovertible Truth. What would I say? Don’t be afraid to Think, read and question for yourself. Don’t ever stop growing in your knowledge and curiosity of the world around you and how you fit into it. Overall, Think for yourself and don’t let anyone tell you to just accept the answers you are given.

5. What advice would you give Christians on dialoging with those they disagree with?

Be respectful, diligent and courteous. listen and allow yourself to think thru the questions and the answers from both positions. “seek first to understand, then to be understood”. be open and ready to learn, but also ready to express and exchange what you hold to be true.

6. If Christianity is a farce why do you think millions and millions have followed it since the time of Jesus, many even to their deaths?

Millions of people believing something to be true, “even unto death” is not evidence of it actually being true. Realize, there are millions of Muslims, Buddhists and Hindus who have also lived and died for the Truth of their beliefs. would you concede the same ‘value’ to their convictions that they are true beliefs? i’m not sure you would.

Thanks to KIA for taking the time to answer my questions. If you have a question for him I am sure we will respond. 
You can also check out his site at https://recoveringknowitall.wordpress.com

13 thoughts on “Why I Quit The Faith: An Interview with KIA

  1. Faith. No matter what we believe…no matter what we put stock in…we are exercising faith. I myself have questioned many things about what we, the church, teach and put stock in. I have been told that I am not a typical Christian. I’ll take that as a complement. There is much about the church that is broken. But isn’t that what we are when we come to Him, broken? It is only through our maturing and seeking Him (not man’s version of Him) that we truly change into the person He would have us to be.

  2. Thx nest keeper,
    But I’d disagree (yeah, I know. Who’d a thunk). Although the Function of the church is imperfect and often messed up and even dangerous to spiritual health depending in your particular flavor or denom background, working towards a more perfect or Jesus Like expression of The Bodt is not the solution. God knows I’ve tried over the years. The issue that ultimately pushed me “outside the gates” as it were was the Foundation of the church and Christianity as a whole. As illustrated by my answers to dax’s questions.
    In the end, the bible is a flawed, human compilation of tribal and religious myth, not at all indicative of a perfect all knowing, socereign and loving god. And Christianity is just as flawed, human and counter indicative of any influence of divine source.
    Neither are what they appear or proport themselves to be.
    I hope this helps understand my dilemma correctly. Thx

  3. Sorry brother. I know what you meant about life getting in the way now. I haven’t been able to put the post together about your answers. But I’m hoping to get it together this weekend and have an email for youreference perusal. Thx again for the conversation. -kia

Leave a Reply

